Intermittent problem with 1.6 HDi

garageman

Membre régulier
28 Juillet 2005
My apologies for not writing in French - I am still learning :)
The problem I am about to describe happened to me three times since I got the vehicle. All three times I was driving in the city, and at first I noticed substantial increase in the engine noise. I parked the car, and slowly pressed the gas pedal while the gearbox was in neutral, to examine the engine noise. The peak noise (sounded like a large truck) was around 1500 rpm, and between 1500 and 2000 the engine was running rough with stuttering. Beyond 2000 rpm seemed to run ok.
I also noticed the cooling ventilator was on all the time, although the engine temperature was around 80.

The best part of the story is that when I stop the engine, wait for 2 min and then restart - problem is gone!

The experts :lol: at the local Peugeot garage have no clue why this is happening and refuse to get their hands dirty because I cannot reproduce the problem when I bring the car to them.

Anybody with the same problem?

donc si j'ai tout compris, enfin au moins en partie, il dit qu'il a un bruit venant du moteur, genre "gros camion" qui apparait aux alentours des 1500 t/m, et que le ventilo de refroidissement tourne en continue, alors que le liquide est à 80°C. Quand il coupe le moteur et redémarre au bout de 2 mns, le problème a disparu. Du coup chez Peugeot ils lui disent qu'il ne peuvent rien faire, car ils n'ont jamais pu constater le bruit.
Est-ce déjà arrivé à l'un d'entre vous?

Sorry, but I can't help you. I never had this problem.

Nothing special to notice when they scan the system?

It sounds interesting but unfortunately I can help you that much. I will post tonight your question on the Dutch site as well, perhaps they know a solution. Or at least the cause.

Je crois que c'est dans sa signature !!

A bas oui !, là il faut que j'ouvre les yeux. :dodo:

The cooling ventilator turn when the FAP regenerate, perhaps that's the